365 goals in six days of daCosta Cup – Top teams begin to make their move

first_imgWESTERN BUREAU: A total of 365 goals were scored in week one of the 2016 Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA)/FLOW daCosta Cup football competition, with the fancied schools already beginning to show their clout, while those of lesser quality continue staking a claim in their bid to wear the ‘upsetters’ tag for this year. Lennon High have scored 13 goals so far, the most by any school, with marquee teams such as defending champions St Elizabeth Technical (STETHS) 12 goals and Vere Technical 11 goals occupying the next two places. Teammates Romeo Wright and Jovoney Brown of STETHS have each scored four goals (hat-tricks included) to lead the scorers’ table. Also with four goals are two Vere Tech players, David Duckworth and Ronaldo Thomas. Michael Heaven of Cornwall College has three. STETHS, along with last year’s defeated finalists Dinthill Technical and several other teams including a host of former winners including the Paul ‘Tegat’ Davis-coached Clarendon College, Rusea’s, the always dangerous Glenmuir, Vere Technical, Godfrey Stewart and Cornwall College all seemed primed for making a deep run into the next stage of the competition. BELOW THE RADAR Then there are those flying just below the radar in the likes of Lennon, Manchester, Spalding, Petersfield, Paul Bogle, Frome Technical, Kemps Hill and Garvey Maceo, anyone of which could become real threats this year. Each has looked good so far, with the competition’s second week about to get underway this afternoon with a full slate of matches scheduled. Here is how they actually stand in each zone after week one. Zone A: Cornwall College (six points) lead on goal difference over second place St James High (6). Green Pond (4) and Irwin (1) are next, while Maldon and Anchovy remain without a point at this stage. Zone B: Frome (3) lead on goal difference over Rusea’s (3), Green Island and Knockalva High are yet to log points. Zone C: Herbert Morrison (5), after three matches, lead Spot Valley (4), Cedric Titus (4), Muschett (4), William Knibb (2) and Holland (1). Zone D: Petersfield (6) lead on goal difference over Godfrey Stewart (6), Little London (5), Grange Hill (4), Manning’s (4) and Maud McLeod yet to secure a point. Zone E: STETHS (6) lead on goal difference over Lacovia (6), Munro (1), Newell (1), Maggotty and Black River yet to score a point. Zone F: Manchester (6) lead on goal difference over BB Coke (6), Mile Gully (6), Belair, DeCarteret and Cross Keys without any points at this stage. Zone G: Spalding (9) lead over Holmwood (6), Christiana (3), Bellefield (3), Alston (3) and May Day High (3). Zone H: Lennon (6) lead on goal difference ahead of Clarendon College (6), Edwin Allen (3), Thompson Town (3), Knox and Claud McKay (0) point. Zone I: Marcus Garvey (6), Steer Town (4), A. Gallimore (3), Browns Town (3), York Castle (1) and Ocho Rios (0) point. Zone J: Iona High (6), Horace Clarke (5), Tacky High (5), St. Mary High (4), Brimmervale (2) and St. Mary Tech (1). Zone K: Dinthill (6) lead ahead of Ewarton (6), McGrath (3), Charlemont (1), Guys Hill (1) and Bog Walk (0) point. Zone L: Port Antonio (6), lead on goal difference over Fair Prospect (6), Oracabessa (3), Titchfield and Happy Grove (0) points. Zone M: Glenmuir (6) lead on goal difference over Garvey Maceo (6), Denbigh (6), Foga Road, Porus and Winston Jones are yet to log a point. Zone N: Vere Tech (6) lead on goal difference over Kemps Hill (6), Central High (3), Old Harbour (3), Bustamante (1) and Tacius Golding (1). Zone O: Paul Bogle (9), Seaforth (7), Robert Lightbourne (6), Morant Bay (2), St. Thomas Tech (1) and Yallahs (0) point.last_img