Oxford academics honoured by the Royal Society

first_imgFour Oxford academics have won recognition from the Royal Society for the excellence of their work.Professor Sir John Ball was awarded the Sylvester medal for the encouragement of mathematical research. Professor Marcus du Sautoy was “honoured” to receive an award for communicating science to the UK audiences. Previous winners of the award include David Attenborough and Richard Dawkins.Professor Sunetra Gupta received this year’s Rosalind Franklin award for her her suitability as a role model and her work on pathogen diversity, The award is funded by the government as part of its efforts to promote women in science, technology, engineering and maths.The Royal Society also chose an Oxford professor to give this year’s Ferrier lecture. Colin Blakemore, Professor of Neuroscience commented, “It will be a particular privilege to give the Lecture as part of the celebrations for the Royal Society’s 350th anniversary.” The Ferrier lecture is a Royal Society talk given every three years on a subject related to the advancement of natural knowledge on the structure and functions of the nervous system.12 other awards were given this year.last_img